Doyle Calhoun and Madison Mainwaring Winners of Phi Beta Kappa Society Prizes

April 20, 2020

From Hadley Kelly, The Phi Beta Kappa Society Director, Visiting Scholar Program

I wanted to share the exciting news with Yale University that Doyle Calhoun is the recipient of the 2020 Walter J. Jensen Fellowship, and Madison Mainwaring is the recipient of the 2020 Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship. Congratulations!

Awarded annually by Phi Beta Kappa, the Walter J. Jensen Fellowship was established in 2001 by Professor Walter J. Jensen (ΦΒΚ, UCLA) for the study of French Language, Literature, and Culture. It aims to help educators and researchers improve education in standard French language, literature and culture and in the study of standard French in the United States. The fellowship is awarded for at least six continuous months of study in France and carries a stipend of over $16,000.

Awarded annually and established in 1934 by Isabelle Stone (ΦΒΚ, Wellesley College) in honor of her mother, the Mary Isabel Sibley Fellowship was designed to reward women pursuing graduate work with the experience of researching and living abroad. The Sibley Fellowship is awarded annually, alternating in the fields of Greek and French. The award may be used for the study of Greek language, literature, history, or archaeology, or the study of French language or literature. It carries a stipend of $20,000.

We have posted the press releases on our website (Jensen and Sibley) and are sharing the news on our social media.